Need more, need help now? we offer pay-as-you-go support, no contract, tenth of an hour billing, expert help, fast service, no call queue
We can offer lower cost Sage50cloud subscriptions for customer using pay-as-you-go support or who are self-supporting.
Need integration, your shipping system, your website, your invoicing system, your crm.
Need a bespoke solution, Mini Manufacturing, Spreadsheet order import, Back to back orders.
Want web hosting, email, your own domain name, a shop, we do it all!

Win 10, 'You have entered an invalid password'

Sage 50 general help forum - Free help and support for all general issues
Post Reply
Klerky
User
User
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 Nov 2021, 19:14
Sage Version: v2010 16 UK/Europe/Africa

Win 10, 'You have entered an invalid password'

Post by Klerky » 16 Nov 2021, 19:32

Hi,

64 bit Windows 10 pro on 64 bit.
Sage V2010 V16

Could not test cmopatibility checker on setup.exe, as Windows blocked the app.

Running the setup.exe via an admin elevated CMD got it to install, initially though experienced error with a 'Report Designer Problem'.

Running the 'SageEnableDotNet35.exe' patch resolved the Report Designer error on install.

After install, on first run and selecting Demo or Practice Data, I was wasked to provide User Name and Password, entering 'manager' gave: 'You have entered an invalid password' error. And could go no further.

On one occassion we could restore a data set, but again had the 'You have entered an invalid password' issue.

I checked Microsoft.net Framework 3.5 and above was enabled.

Any help appreciated.

User avatar
brucedenney
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4420
Joined: 28 Feb 2006, 09:56
Sage Version: v2017 23 UK/Europe/Africa

Re: Win 10, 'You have entered an invalid password'

Post by brucedenney » 17 Nov 2021, 10:52

Try right clicking on the shortcut to launch Sage and choose the option "run as Administrator"
For just about anything Sage :- switch to subscription, pay-as-you-go support, sagecover, upgrades, application integration, reports, layouts, analysis or any other help making life with sage easier/less time consuming Contact me. Image

Klerky
User
User
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 Nov 2021, 19:14
Sage Version: v2010 16 UK/Europe/Africa

Re: Win 10, 'You have entered an invalid password'

Post by Klerky » 22 Nov 2021, 12:16

Hi Bruce,
Thanks for the reply, we have tried that I'm afraid.
Any other suggestions ?

User avatar
brucedenney
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4420
Joined: 28 Feb 2006, 09:56
Sage Version: v2017 23 UK/Europe/Africa

Re: Win 10, 'You have entered an invalid password'

Post by brucedenney » 22 Nov 2021, 12:25

It clearly is not happy, you had problems during installation by the sound of it.

Have you applied all the patches to it?

Is it version 16.0.14.147, if not you are missing an update.
For just about anything Sage :- switch to subscription, pay-as-you-go support, sagecover, upgrades, application integration, reports, layouts, analysis or any other help making life with sage easier/less time consuming Contact me. Image

Klerky
User
User
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 Nov 2021, 19:14
Sage Version: v2010 16 UK/Europe/Africa

Re: Win 10, 'You have entered an invalid password'

Post by Klerky » 22 Nov 2021, 12:34

Hi, looks like we are bit behind, I found these on your site:

http://files.makingithappen.co.uk/updates/V16-2010/

Looks like there are 4 .exe files relevant to the main App. should they be run in any order ?

Thanks

User avatar
brucedenney
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4420
Joined: 28 Feb 2006, 09:56
Sage Version: v2017 23 UK/Europe/Africa

Re: Win 10, 'You have entered an invalid password'

Post by brucedenney » 22 Nov 2021, 12:43

Yes,

16 then 18 then 19. They will complain if you do them in the wrong order, the others shouldn't matter.
For just about anything Sage :- switch to subscription, pay-as-you-go support, sagecover, upgrades, application integration, reports, layouts, analysis or any other help making life with sage easier/less time consuming Contact me. Image

Klerky
User
User
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 Nov 2021, 19:14
Sage Version: v2010 16 UK/Europe/Africa

Re: Win 10, 'You have entered an invalid password'

Post by Klerky » 22 Nov 2021, 12:47

Ok thats great, what is the accounts2010_ecsl.exe, is that also an update or a service pack, and it goes before or after the 16, 18 and 19 ?

User avatar
brucedenney
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4420
Joined: 28 Feb 2006, 09:56
Sage Version: v2017 23 UK/Europe/Africa

Re: Win 10, 'You have entered an invalid password'

Post by brucedenney » 22 Nov 2021, 14:51

It doesn't matter really, it is a fix for the EC Sales lists, which are obsolete now.
For just about anything Sage :- switch to subscription, pay-as-you-go support, sagecover, upgrades, application integration, reports, layouts, analysis or any other help making life with sage easier/less time consuming Contact me. Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 0 guests