Need more, need help now? we offer pay-as-you-go support, no contract, tenth of an hour billing, expert help, fast service, no call queue
We can offer lower cost Sage50cloud subscriptions for customer using pay-as-you-go support or who are self-supporting.
Need integration, your shipping system, your website, your invoicing system, your crm.
Need a bespoke solution, Mini Manufacturing, Spreadsheet order import, Back to back orders.
Want web hosting, email, your own domain name, a shop, we do it all!

Sage 50 - Global Nominal Code default?

Sage 50 general help forum - Free help and support for all general issues
Post Reply
sageNoob
User
User
Posts: 36
Joined: 03 Aug 2020, 12:04
Sage Version: v2015 21 UK/Europe/Africa

Sage 50 - Global Nominal Code default?

Post by sageNoob » 02 Mar 2021, 16:22

Sage UK - version 25.1.128.0

Hi, is there any way to set a default value for the global nominal code section in an invoice/credit note?

User avatar
brucedenney
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4345
Joined: 28 Feb 2006, 09:56
Sage Version: v2017 23 UK/Europe/Africa

Re: Sage 50 - Global Nominal Code default?

Post by brucedenney » 03 Mar 2021, 08:10

No, by default it is not used.

I could write something to put one on it, but it would be an "after creation" action which you would need to do before updating the ledgers.

I assume you have a performance issue and are trying to reduce the size of the database.
For just about anything Sage :- switch to subscription, pay-as-you-go support, sagecover, upgrades, application integration, reports, layouts, analysis or any other help making life with sage easier/less time consuming Contact me. Image

sageNoob
User
User
Posts: 36
Joined: 03 Aug 2020, 12:04
Sage Version: v2015 21 UK/Europe/Africa

Re: Sage 50 - Global Nominal Code default?

Post by sageNoob » 05 Mar 2021, 16:24

brucedenney wrote:
03 Mar 2021, 08:10
No, by default it is not used.

I could write something to put one on it, but it would be an "after creation" action which you would need to do before updating the ledgers.

I assume you have a performance issue and are trying to reduce the size of the database.
Oh I didn't know that the global nominal code saves space on the database. I know it creates issues on our reports when it is missing.

Regarding the 'after creation' action I don't think it's much of a use because I already manually check the invoices for missing global codes. The only ones I miss are the ones already updated to ledger by someone else, before I can manually find it. It would need to be a 'pre' or default thing. Thanks anyway.

SomeGuy
User
User
Posts: 13
Joined: 20 Jul 2020, 06:14
Sage Version: Other

Re: Sage 50 - Global Nominal Code default?

Post by SomeGuy » 08 Mar 2021, 07:03

sageNoob wrote:
05 Mar 2021, 16:24
Oh I didn't know that the global nominal code saves space on the database. I know it creates issues on our reports when it is missing.
Using a global nominal or not makes no difference to the space used in the database.

There's no way to set a default global nominal within the software (thanks for another glaring omission Sage!). This means your only options would a post-creation utility as per Bruce's suggestion, or to adapt your reports to assume a default nominal code if one has not been set. Neither of them are stellar options.

If you are on a reasonably up to date version of Sage then you could add an alert to all customer records to remind that a global nominal should be set but that's probably not a particularly great option either.

SG

User avatar
brucedenney
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4345
Joined: 28 Feb 2006, 09:56
Sage Version: v2017 23 UK/Europe/Africa

Re: Sage 50 - Global Nominal Code default?

Post by brucedenney » 08 Mar 2021, 12:57

Using the global nominal code does make a difference to the space used.

Instead of one split per line on the invoice, you get one split per invoices, this will massively reduce the number of splits and so reduce the size of the database as there will be fewer usages as well. The only time it would make no difference is on a single line invoice.
For just about anything Sage :- switch to subscription, pay-as-you-go support, sagecover, upgrades, application integration, reports, layouts, analysis or any other help making life with sage easier/less time consuming Contact me. Image

SomeGuy
User
User
Posts: 13
Joined: 20 Jul 2020, 06:14
Sage Version: Other

Re: Sage 50 - Global Nominal Code default?

Post by SomeGuy » 09 Mar 2021, 06:48

Ah, you mean when actually posting the invoice. I meant with the invoice artefact itself.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests