Need more help now? use pay-as-you-go support, call now 03333 445950

We offer rebates on Sage50 subscriptions, discounts on products, service sagecover (not renewals) and stationery.

We also provide Sage 50 integration and email/web services.

Sage on Server 200 R2 pegs the CPU

For some reason the powers that be in Sage have decided to us Sage 50 as a name for lots of different accounting systems and this has led to a lot of confusion.

The UK version is sold in UK Eire, Malta, Africa, Australia and New Zealand.

It does get used in other parts of the world (eg China France) but it is not actively marketed.

This forum is for questions relating to the non UK versions.
Post Reply
tdnewk
User
User
Posts: 2
Joined: 18 Sep 2012, 16:15
Sage Version: v2013 19 UK/Europe/Africa

Sage on Server 200 R2 pegs the CPU

Post by tdnewk » 18 Sep 2012, 16:25

Good Day!

We have recently started using Sage 50 2013 and are running in a client server configuration. We have about 5 windows 7 workstations connecting to a Server 2008 R2 virtual server. We are fully patched on the server and the workstations, but it seems the server eventually pegs on the w3dbsmgr.exe process after about 3-4 days of running. We do a restart on the server and the sage services on the clients and all is well until the about the 4 th day..then it pegs again. We only have one company file, have the sage automated backup set up, and are backing up the server in general with Data Protection Manager. The cpu seems to peg early in the morning after a DPM backup. The server is not on the same subnet as the clients.

Any help would be appreciated.

User avatar
brucedenney
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3911
Joined: 28 Feb 2006, 09:56
Sage Version: v2017 23 UK/Europe/Africa

Re: Sage on Server 200 R2 pegs the CPU

Post by brucedenney » 19 Sep 2012, 11:18

Can you give the full version number.

Are you sure you are running Sage 50, it sounds to me like you might be running Sage50US which is a totally different product with an almost identical name (Thanks Sage!)

w3dbsmgr.exe is part of the persvasive SQL engine, Sage50 does not use that.

If this is the Sage50US version please write to Sage and complain about the confusion created by having 2 products with the same name.
For just about anything Sage :- switch to subscription, pay-as-you-go support, sagecover, upgrades, application integration, reports, layouts, analysis or any other help making life with sage easier/less time consuming Contact me. Image

tdnewk
User
User
Posts: 2
Joined: 18 Sep 2012, 16:15
Sage Version: v2013 19 UK/Europe/Africa

Re: Sage on Server 200 R2 pegs the CPU

Post by tdnewk » 21 Sep 2012, 15:39

Sorry for the delay in responding...you are correct we have the US version not your version. I will tell them..this is my first experience with Sage and I cannot say I am pleased. I talked with tech support and they basically said they will not support me as long as a run the server on a VM and not a physical box.

Thanks Again !

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest