Need more, need help now? we offer pay-as-you-go support, no contract, tenth of an hour billing, expert help, fast service, no call queue
We can offer lower cost Sage50cloud subscriptions for customer using pay-as-you-go support or who are self-supporting.
Need integration, your shipping system, your website, your invoicing system, your crm.
Need a bespoke solution, Mini Manufacturing, Spreadsheet order import, Back to back orders.
Want web hosting, email, your own domain name, a shop, we do it all!

If Statement not working

Report design issues and solutions.
Post Reply
LisaPD
User
User
Posts: 15
Joined: 19 Oct 2020, 09:51
Sage Version: Other

If Statement not working

Post by LisaPD » 19 Oct 2020, 10:10

Hi,

I have created a report to show customer discounts, which shows the Sales_Ledger_Discount_Type, but when I run the reports it shows the coded variable numbers 0 to 6, and I want it to show on the report as 'Discount A, B C etc.'

I have tried the following If Statement, within the Expression Editor of the Sales_Ledger_Discount_Type box, but it doesn't work. Could you let me know what I'm doing wrong?

SALES_LEDGER.DISCOUNT_TYPE = "0" ? "No Additional" : SALES_LEDGER.DISCOUNT_TYPE = "1" ? "Invoice Value" : SALES_LEDGER.DISCOUNT_TYPE = "2" ? "Discount A" : SALES_LEDGER.DISCOUNT_TYPE = "3" ? "Discount B" : SALES_LEDGER.DISCOUNT_TYPE = "4" ? "Discount C" : SALES_LEDGER.DISCOUNT_TYPE = "5" ? "Discount D" : SALES_LEDGER.DISCOUNT_TYPE = "6" ? "Discount E" : ""

Thank you

User avatar
brucedenney
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4331
Joined: 28 Feb 2006, 09:56
Sage Version: v2017 23 UK/Europe/Africa

Re: If Statement not working

Post by brucedenney » 19 Oct 2020, 10:27

I can't check right now because I am away from my desk, but I think the issue could be the value yo are comparing to "1" is a bit of Text whereas 1 is a number.

Try this

Code: Select all

SALES_LEDGER.DISCOUNT_TYPE = 0 ? "No Additional" : SALES_LEDGER.DISCOUNT_TYPE = 1 ? "Invoice Value" : SALES_LEDGER.DISCOUNT_TYPE = 2 ? "Discount A" : SALES_LEDGER.DISCOUNT_TYPE = 3 ? "Discount B" : SALES_LEDGER.DISCOUNT_TYPE = 4 ? "Discount C" : SALES_LEDGER.DISCOUNT_TYPE = 5 ? "Discount D" : SALES_LEDGER.DISCOUNT_TYPE = 6 ? "Discount E" : ""
If it doesn't work let me know, I will be able to access sage later and can put your expression into the report designer and check it properly.
For just about anything Sage :- switch to subscription, pay-as-you-go support, sagecover, upgrades, application integration, reports, layouts, analysis or any other help making life with sage easier/less time consuming Contact me. Image

LisaPD
User
User
Posts: 15
Joined: 19 Oct 2020, 09:51
Sage Version: Other

Re: If Statement not working

Post by LisaPD » 19 Oct 2020, 10:32

Hi Bruce,

That's worked! I'm really sorry, I'm sure I'd tried that too!

Thank you for your help.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest